Agricultora


Adventures in Gardening, Strange Animals, Etc.
May 13, 2008, 7:14 pm
Filed under: Farm, Garden, Strawbale House

Basil is settling in well here.  She seems happier than I’ve ever seen her.  One of her new haunts is a little precarious, but she seems to enjoy it.

Basil\'s New Hang-Out

Luckily, she was asleep when we were eating dinner and were joined by a foreign critter.

Milk Snake

Apparently it’s a milk snake– perhaps about to molt, probably living in the woodpile when it’s not trespassing in our house– not a corn snake like it sort of looks like.  Not poisonous.  Still creepy.  And yes, I did bellow and put my feet up on my chair when it came towards them.

Matt and I spent most of yesterday working in the garden.  We put in lots of great stuff, and there are lots of pictures here, which you should definitely check out because that’s the only way you’ll find out about the cool perennial vegetables and Mexican herb and other such experimental things I planted this year, because I’m too tired to write more than I did for the Flickr post and I need to go get dinner together.

Today was my first day of work, which went well.  We lunged a baby Fjord pony who was recently castrated and is having some healing issues and needs more exercise, and then we spent most of the day in the greenhouse, moving plants around, consolidating trays, labeling pots and potting on tomatoes until we ran out of fiber pots and found out that apparently no one has anymore anywhere.

I’ll leave you with this little bit of my daily routine:

Pig Butt

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] think that Bekah took a picture of it: head over there to see. She probably talks a lot more about the garden, too. So I won’t duplicate. Explore […]

Pingback by The Day the Piggies Got Out, the Day the Snake Got In « Mattʼs Musings and Noodlings

[…] more snakes You might remember our old story about the […]

Pingback by Two more snakes « Mattʼs Musings and Noodlings




Leave a Reply

