Agricultora


Put By
October 23, 2008, 5:19 pm
Filed under: Farm, Food

I mentioned all the things we’ve been canning, pickling, jamming, drying etc. in my last post, and thought I’d send you over to Flickr to look at some obsessive pictures like this (click on the picture to see the rest of the set):

Put By

Put By

You can see a little bit of the evidence of Matt’s beverage making efforts this summer underneath the bottom shelf, too.

And I caught a little more color across the pasture from the house:

Color

Color

Today we “processed” ducks.  It was my first extended hands-on involvement in this process, and I have to say that I won’t be eating any poultry for at least a day (not that we eat much poultry anyway, but that’s beside the point).  My job was just going over the ducks that had been scalded and waxed to get rid of the last pin feathers.  Oy.  I won’t begin to describe.  Suffice to say that if you ever get a pin feather in a mouthful of rich juicy duckmeat, try not to be too angry at whoever processed it.  Those suckers are a pain.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thank you for the lovely photos of your life on the farm, Bekah. I can hear the sadness in your note but also the joy in your heart for a job well done. Congratulations on all your work! And thank you for sharing this adventure with me. I enjoyed being a small part of living on a farm!
Love to you and Matt and the cats, Teresa

Comment by Teresa




Leave a Reply

