Agricultora


Water Kefir
February 26, 2009, 5:46 pm
Filed under: Fermentation, Food

In the annals of our fermentation efforts, Matt and I don’t have many stories of non-spontaneous ferments, ferments which need introduced starters to go– except, of course, kombucha, viili, yogurt…  So OK, a few.  But today I started a new one.  I’ve been on the lookout for kefir grains, for both dairy kefir and water kefir, for a few weeks, and yesterday, I received a package in the mail from a friendly Brooklynite with water kefir grains (and information and advice) to spare.

I didn’t have time to start the brew yesterday, though, and I needed mineral water and dried fruit, so today, with all the ingredients and tools in order, I rinsed the grains and divided them into two cotton tea bags (with about 3 Tbsp. of grains in each, the suggested dose).

For one batch (the one on the left in the pic below), I dissoved 1/3 c. of rapadura in almost a quart of Fiji water (which the donor of the grains said the grains like best) and added dried unsulphured organic apricots.  For the other (the one on the right), I dissolved the same amount of sugar in almost a quart of Whole Foods brand spring water and added dried organic cranberries.

They look rather odd with the bags floating in the foam of the unrefined sugar.

The trick now is to wait for 24-72 hours, until the water kefir tastes properly fermented.  Can I do it?  We’ll see.

I’m interested in finding out why the kefir grain scoby’s are said to do better in water with high mineral content.  I’ve done a bit of preliminary research without finding out much, unfortunately, but there’s a lot of information on all sorts of aspects of kefir here: http://users.sa.chariot.net.au/~dna/kefirpage.html#alternativekefir

More when the water kefir is finished!

Posted via email from F(ermentation)Log

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

