Agricultora


Red Beans, Rice, Andouille & Cornbread
March 9, 2009, 2:01 pm
Filed under: Food

First of all, I have to say that this is my idea of a perfect meal, and Matt cooked it for me = swoon.

The andouille was from High Hope Hogs, one of the many products of the Blew family, and I have to know who processes their meat, because their sausage recipes are great.  Nice and spicy.

We opened a bottle of a new wine to go with the meal, which we were introduced to by the friendly follks at Moore Bros., and it was quite good.  I have to say that I think we bought it solely because we found out that they farm biodynamically with horses, but it also came highly recommended for taste, so we picked up four bottles, and it definitely came through.  It was from Mas de Libian, and if you’re at all into draft horses or beautiful women, you should go flip through the pictures on their site, because both the horse, Nestor, and the owner/farmer/vintner, Hélene, are decidedly attractive.  The wine was so dark it was almost black (and I have to say that’s the color it left my tongue), and it was well-balanced and rich.

The star of the meal, however, was the gluten-free cornbread, the recipe for which I found online.  We made a few substitutions based on what we have on hand– masa instead of corn flour, a little honey instead of the sugar and piima cream thinned with whey for the buttermilk– and melted some butter in a cast iron pan before pouring in the batter and throwing it in the oven.  It was absolutely delicious.  I hadn’t eaten cornbread since I stopped eating gluten, I really missed it, and I have to say that this may well have been the best cornbread I’ve ever eaten.

Check out that crumb!  If I hadn’t helped make it, there’s no way I would believe it didn’t have gluten in it.

Moral of the story?  Make this cornbread.  It’s killer.  Go out and get a few bottles of the 2007 Mas de Libian from Moore Bros.  And having a sweet, wonderful guy around to cook it for/with you, and to enjoy it with, wouldn’t hurt, either.  Eat and drink well, and enjoy.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

