Agricultora


Sauerkraut, Kimchi, and Kombucha
July 21, 2012, 12:33 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The kimchi has cabbage, carrots, daikon, burdock, ginger, scallions, garlic, and a ripe jalapeño. No fish sauce.

Tonight I finally got around to starting the kombucha. I made a small, one-quart batch to start, and lined it up in the fermentation station, which seems to be suffering from a bit of urban sprawl.

Img_0491

I cycled the kefir grains through milk for 24 hours before straining them out and feeding them fresh milk again, trying to get them going quickly. I tasted the results of the first culturing and it’s actually not too bad already, although not as good as established kefir.

I also started more piima cream and a larger batch of viili, to see if that culture can handle expansion and growth. Both that and the kefir are in milk that’s been frozen, though, which suffers from textural issues if nothing else, so I’m viewing it as a bit of a gamble. I’ve been bitten by dairy cultures in thawed milk before. Don’t worry, I have more viili reserved — plus the viili that’s culturing the cream, which seems to encourage thriving good health anyway. I am a little worried about the kefir grains, but when I changed the milk today they seemed to be multiplying already, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

